Dave van Niekerk


 With 21-years’ experience in the microfinance industry, Dave van Niekerk is one of the founding members and current Executive Chairman of MyBucks. Dave began his micro-finance career working at one of the founding companies of the one-time South African financial giant, African bank founding Blue financial Services and founding MyBucks. Established in 2012 with international backing, MyBucks is Africa’s first fintech company, successfully delivering seamless financial services to consumers using technology platforms. Based in Luxembourg, MyBucks holds the brands Haraka, GetBucks, GetSure, GetBanked, Oportunity Bank and New Finance Bank. MyBucks listed on the Frankfurt Stock Exchange in June 2016, making it the first African Fintech company to list on the Exchange. The MyBucks Group’s global footprint has grown to seven MFI operations, five banking operations, with operations in eleven African countries as well as operations in Europe and Australia. As an African micro-finance pioneer, Dave has witnessed Africa first-hand and its growth over the last 21 years, fuelling his passion for pioneering the promotion of investment in many African countries, particularly in the financial and micro-finance sector. He continues to create innovating business models that make financial inclusion for people across the African continent a reality.

Timothy Nuy


Prior to joining the Mybucks Group, Tim was an investment director at African Development Corporation AG in Frankfurt am Main where he was responsible for acquisitions and disposals, as well as the day-to-day operations of the Mauritian entities of the Group.

Tim was involved in several complex transactions notably with the controlling investment into ABC Holdings Limited, the disposal of RSwitch (Rwanda) and the takeover by Atlas Mara. Before joining ADC, Tim worked at KPMG's transaction & restructuring department in Hamburg, Germany. Besides his function as Chief Exectutive Officer, Tim is responsible for the Group's business areas, mergers and acquisitions and corporare finance including all debt and equity funding initiatives and expansions into new markets.

Markus Schachner

Non-Executive Chairman

Markus is a former partner of McKinsey & Company, a global management consulting firm. For the last 13 years, he has ben serving leading banks, asset management and insurance companies. He was Chairman of McKinsey’s Asset Management CEO summit, founding partner of McKinsey Performance Lens, and member of the leadership team of the European banking, insurance, and wealth management practices. Markus is now a partner of Infinitum, a privately held family office investing in Fintech companies.

Christopher Hall

Non-Executive Director

Christopher has had a career in telecommunications, technology, finance and law spanning more than 30 years, working in North and South America, Europe, the Middle East and Asia.  In early 2017 he stepped down as a senior finance partner in the London Office of Latham & Watkins, a global law firm.

Prior to that, he was an Executive Vice President of a pan-European data communications company with ‎responsibilities including mergers and acquisitions, joint venture development, and capital markets issuances. Christopher serves on the Boards of a number of companies in the technology sector, specialising in FinTech, EdTech and HRTech. Christopher is a solicitor of the Senior Courts of England and Wales and is a member of the New York Bar 

Trevor Joslin


 Trevor Joslin has had a career in Investment banking since 1986, and held senior positions with various banks in Geneva including Barclays. In 2000, he joined HSBC and started up their Asia Banking Unit, and subsequently managed the East Africa region for the bank. Trevor holds a B.Sc. (University of Surrey, Guildford, United Kingdom), First Class Honours in Chemistry and is a Doctor of Philosophy (University of Southampton, United Kingdom).

George Manyere


Mr. George Manyere founded Brainworks in 2008 and was its Group CEO from formation till 1 February 2017. During his leadership, Brainworks grew to be recognised as a leading investment and corporate advisory company, with a strong presence in sectors such as financial services and life insurance to name only a few.

Since its formation to the time George stepped down as Group CEO, Brainworks grew exponentially in all key metrics such as revenues of US$48.2 million; total shareholders’ funds of US$65.4 million and total assets of US$162.8 million. Prior to founding Brainworks, Mr. Manyere was an investment professional with the International Finance Corporation (IFC), headquartered in Washington DC. Mr. Manyere trained as a Chartered Accountant with KPMG in Zimbabwe and holds a Bachelor and Honours degree in Accounting Science from the University of South Africa and a Certificate in Theory of Accounting from the Institute of Chartered Accountants Zimbabwe.

Dennis Wallestad

Non-Executive Director

Dennis Wallestad was the CFO and Managing Director responsible for Europe, the Middle East and Africa at J.P. Morgan Chase in New York from October 2012 to March 2014. Previously, he was CFO for the Treasury & Securities Services group. Prior to joining J.P. Morgan Chase, Dennis was responsible for all accounting and financial reporting activities of Pershing LLC, a subsidiary of The Bank of New York Mellon Corporation, and its affiliates worldwide.

Dennis has a solid experience as CFO and Vice President Operations. He has a Bachelor of Science in Accounting from the Auburn University and Masters of Accountancy from the University of Oklahoma and is a Certified Public Accountant. Currently, Dennis is a Director at Opportunity International in Chicago and is responsible for the restructuring and reorganization of the Group. 

Dave van Niekerk



Tim Nuy



Neville Graham




Andries van Wyk

Chief Information Officer


Dr Christiaan van der Walt

Chief Technology Officer


Nic Louw



Rainer Küsel

Head of Internal Audit


Riaan Paul



Annemi Mennen

Head of Marketing


Sergey Gorchakov

Group Financial Controller




Gustaf Wessels

HOD – Business Architecture


Bryce Pieterse

Collections Executive


Michelle Calitz

Insurance Executive




Dean Crocker




Celliers Inggs



Mark Vivier



Paul Walshe


Marthin De Kock


Jaco Coetzee


Michael Hodgkiss


Pieter van der Merwe


Charmaine Diergaardt


Michal Gebala


William Hunter


Abraham Fourie


Tineyi Mawocha


Raymond West-Evans


Mercy Murevesi